The Rabindranath Tagore Centre for Human Development Studies (RTCHDS) is a joint initiative of IDSK and the University of Calcutta. The centre, sponsored by UGC, focuses on the study of human development in reference to the works of Rabindranath Tagore, interpreted in the context of current issues.

The Advisory Committee of RTCHDS is headed by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Calcutta as Chairman, the Director of the IDSK as Vice-Chairman and with other representatives from the IDSK and the University of Calcutta. The academic programmes of the Centre include organizing seminars, supporting doctoral research, hosting post doctoral fellows and visiting academics at various levels.

RTCHDS appointed following eight visiting professors (the term of all of them have been expired):

  • Ajit Banerjee, President, Centre for Ecological Culture and member of Biodiversity Board, West Bengal
  • Ashwani Saith of Institute of Social Studies, The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Arup Maharatna, Gokhale Institute of Politicas and Economics, Pune
  • Buroshiva Dasgupta,Former Director of Manipal Institute of Communication
  • Dipankar Coondoo, Former Professor of Indian Statistical Institute Kolkata
  • Ranabir Chakravarti, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
  • Sudhir Chakravarti, noted expert of Bengali folk music and culture
  • Sunanda Sen, Former Professor of the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and Visiting Professor of University of Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi

Post-doctoral fellows associated with the Centre :

  • Dr. Debarati Bandyopadhyay, Visva Bharati University
  • Dr. Joysankar Bhattacharya
  • Dr. Subhasri Ghosh
  • Professor Sujata Mukherjee, Rabindra Bharati University
  • Dr. Utsa Ray
  • Dr. Gorky Chakraborty
  • Dr. Atasi Nanda Goswami
  • Dr. Dipankar Das
  • Dr. Justin P Jose
  • Dr. Debarati Das